News Release

Groundbreaking Announced for Durban South Africa Temple

The First Presidency of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has announced that the groundbreaking for the Durban South Africa Temple on Saturday, April 9, 2016.

President Thomas S. Monson announced the construction of the temple during the October 2011 general conference.

Attendance at the groundbreaking is by invitation; however, a live Internet feed of the ceremony will be transmitted to meetinghouses within the temple district.

Three temples currently serve Mormons in Africa, including the Johannesburg South Africa Temple, dedicated in 1985; the Accra Ghana Temple, dedicated in 2004; and the Aba Nigeria Temple, dedicated in 2005. Ground was broken February 12, 2016, for the Kinshasa Democratic Republic of the Congo Temple. The Abidjan Ivory Coast (Côte d’Ivoire) Temple has been announced.

After the temple is completed, open house dates will be announced so the public can tour the temple before it is dedicated. A date for dedication will also be announced.

The Church currently has 149 temples in operation, with another 29 announced, under construction or being renovated.

For more information about temples, visit The site includes general information on temples, the history of the Church and the purpose of temples.

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.