News Release

The Provo Temple Will Reopen as the Provo Utah Rock Canyon Temple

The Provo Utah Temple will close February 24, 2024, for reconstruction and will be renamed the Provo Utah Rock Canyon Temple. This house of the Lord has served BYU students, missionaries at the Provo Utah Missionary Training Center, and local Latter-day Saints for more than 50 years.

During the closure, members from the temple district are encouraged to attend other temples as their circumstances permit. Those desiring to receive their own ordinances should contact a temple in the surrounding area to make the necessary arrangements.

This house of the Lord was dedicated in February 1972. The temple will remain at the mouth of Rock Canyon on Provo’s east bench, overlooking Brigham Young University, the Provo MTC and Utah Lake.

The-Provo-Utah-Rock-Canyon-Temple-Download Photo

The Provo Utah Rock Canyon Temple will be built to current seismic codes and have reconfigured rooms and energy-efficient electrical, heating, and plumbing systems.

Reconstruction for the Provo Utah Temple was announced by President Russell M. Nelson just months after temples reopened around the world following the global COVID 19 pandemic.

“Whenever any kind of upheaval occurs in your life, the safest place to be spiritually is living inside your temple covenants!” the prophet said at the same general conference in which he announced the reconstruction of the Provo Temple. “When your spiritual foundation is built solidly upon Jesus Christ, you have no need to fear. As you are true to your covenants made in the temple, you will be strengthened by His power. Then, when spiritual earthquakes occur, you will be able to stand strong because your spiritual foundation is solid and immovable.”

The Provo Utah Rock Canyon Temple will be one of 28 temples in Utah, which is home to nearly 2.2 million Latter-day Saints. Temples in operation, under construction or announced in Utah are the Bountiful, Brigham City, Cedar City, Deseret Peak, Draper, Ephraim, Heber Valley, Jordan River, Layton, Lindon, Logan, Manti, Monticello, Mount Timpanogos, Ogden, Oquirrh Mountain, Orem, Payson, Provo City Center, Provo, Red Cliffs, Salt Lake, Saratoga Springs, Smithfield, St. George, Syracuse, Taylorsville and Vernal Temples.

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.