zMormon Newsroom

Eight New Temples in 2016

9 December 2016


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints opened six new temples and rededicated two others in 2016. In the playlist below, watch video from each temple's dedicatory services and cultural celebrations.

Philadelphia Pennsylvania Temple

Provo City Center Temple

Sapporo Japan Temple

Freiberg Germany Temple (rededication)

Suva Fiji Temple (rededication)

Hartford Connecticut Temple

Fort Collins Colorado Temple

Star Valley Wyoming Temple 


New Temple Announcements and Groundbreakings

In 2016, the Church broke ground for four new temples, which are now under construction. These include the Winnipeg Manitoba Temple, the Durban South Africa Temple, the Kinshasa Democratic Republic of the Congo Temple and the Barranquilla Colombia Temple.

In April 2016, Thomas S. Monson, president of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, announced plans to build four new temples located in Harare, Zimbabwe; Quito, Ecuador; Belém, Brazil; and Lima, Peru (the Church’s second temple in that city). The announcement came during his remarks at the Sunday morning session of the Church’s 186th annual general conference.

Return to 2016 Year in Review