Featured Stories

9 Latter-day Saints Are Serving in 117th U.S. Congress

The United States Capitol Building in Washington D.C. lit up at night with the reflecting pool and Ulysses S. Grant memorial in the foreground.© 2021 by Intellectual Reserve, Inc. All rights reserved.

This story appears here courtesy of TheChurchNews.com. It is not for use by other media.

By Christine Rappleye, Church News

Nine Church members are part of the 117th United States Congress — including three members of the U.S. Senate and six in the House of Representatives, according to information from Pew Research Survey’s “Faith on the Hill” report looking at the religious composition of Congress.

It’s one fewer than two years ago in the 116th Congress and the lowest it’s been in the last decade, according to the report.

The lawmakers come from three states — Arizona, Idaho and Utah — and are all Republicans.

The report notes that these nine lawmakers make up 1.7% of Congress, which is similar to the 2% of the U.S. population who are members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

U.S. Senate

The three Latter-day Senators are Sen. Mike Crapo, R-Idaho; Sen. Mike Lee, R-Utah, and Sen. Mitt Romney, R-Utah.

U.S. House of Representatives

The Latter-day Saint members of the U.S. House of Representatives are Rep. Andy Biggs, R-Arizona; Rep. John Curtis, R-Utah; Rep. Blake Moore, R-Utah; Rep. Burgess Owens, R-Utah; Rep. Mike Simpson, R-Idaho; and Rep. Chris Stewart, R-Utah.


The two Democrats from the 116th Congress were New Mexico’s Tom Udall, who retired, and Utah’s Ben McAdams, who was defeated by fellow Latter-day Saint Burgess Owens.

Copyright 2020 Deseret News Publishing Company

Additional Resources

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.